Dublin City Council Northwest Area Committee meeting

The Northwest Area Committee of Dublin City Council meets in public at the Council Chamber at the Ballymun Civic Offices in the Main Street usually on the third Thursday of the month at 3.00 pm. There is a public gallery available for use. In attendance are the five elected members of the Ballymun/Finglas ward and all the relevant council staff from the Northwest area and from Ballymun Regeneration Ltd. Elected members are free to put down motions for discussion and a vote if necessary and also questions relating to the area. Presentations are made to the councillors and the officials by arrangement at each meeting on subjects as diverse as Dublin Bus services; youth and other social services in the area; residents lobbying for single issues such as metro stations or traffic management; developments in Finglas Village, Ballymun Main Street,and the Santry Village Development plan; Sports clubs presenting their plans and seeking support. GAA, soccer, rugby and tennis have all been heard. Residents may lobby about particular buildings and developments and are listened to attentively and questions are taken through the chairman who this year is Councillor John Lyons of Labour. Other councillors in the area include Dessie Ellis of Sinn Fein, John Redmond of Labour and Paul McAuliffe of Fianna Fail. Politically, this group is more conservative than its predecessor. Fianna Fail and Labour are now distinctly conservative.


Eamonn Farrelly Projects and Contracts Liaison Manager Ballymun Regeneration, Michael O’Neill and Bill Tormey.

Area Manager Michael O’Neill, Bill Tormey and Brian Byrne, Area Housing Manager (Projects) in Finglas.


Margaret Geraghty, Assistant Area Manager Finglas, Bill Tormey and Mary Taylor, Assistant Area Manager Ballymun.