Hospital Groupings in RoI

1.6 Recommended composition of Hospital Groups:

Dublin North East: Beaumont Hospital; Our Lady of Lourdes Hospital, Drogheda;

Connolly Hospital; Cavan General Hospital; Rotunda Hospital; Louth County Hospital;

Monaghan Hospital.




Dublin Midlands: St James’s Hospital; The Adelaide & Meath Hospital, Dublin,

including the National Children’s Hospital; Midlands Regional Hospital Tullamore; Naas

General Hospital; Midlands Regional Hospital Portlaoise; the Coombe Women & Infant

University Hospital.




Dublin East: Mater Misericordiae University Hospital; St Vincent’s University Hospital;

Midland Regional Hospital Mullingar; St Luke’s General Hospital Kilkenny; Wexford

General Hospital; National Maternity Hospital; Our Lady’s Hospital Navan; St

Columcille’s Hospital; St Michael’s Hospital Dun Laoghaire; Cappagh National

Orthopaedic Hospital; Royal Victoria Eye and Ear Hospital.




South/South West: Cork University Hospital/CUMH; Waterford Regional Hospital;

Kerry General Hospital; Mercy University Hospital; South Tipperary General Hospital;

South Infirmary Victoria University Hospital; Bantry General Hospital; Mallow General

Hospital, Lourdes Orthopaedic Hospital, Kilcreene.



West/North West: University Hospital Galway and Merlin Park University Hospital;

Sligo Regional Hospital; Letterkenny General Hospital; Mayo General Hospital;

Portiuncula Hospital; Roscommon County Hospital.




Midwest: Mid-Western Regional Hospital, Limerick; Ennis General Hospital; Nenagh

General Hospital; St John’s Hospital Limerick; Mid-Western Regional Maternity

Hospital; Mid-Western Regional Orthopaedic Hospital.






Note: The acute paediatric services in Dublin – Our Lady’s Children’s Hospital Crumlin,

Children’s University Hospital Temple Street and the paediatric service in AMNCH –

should also function as a single cohesive entity with appropriate governance

arrangements (in line with hospital group proposals).