HSE National Directors

The appointment of five National Directors, following a confined PAS competition which commenced on 21st January, 2013, has been confirmed on an initial designate basis pending the enactment of the new HSE Governance legislation.  This process leads to a revised HSE Management Structure planned in conjunction with the new governance arrangements provided for in the Health Service Executive (Governance) Bill, 2012.


The following senior health managers have been appointed to the five posts, and will take up their new posts when the governance legislation is enacted for a term of three years.


§ Mr Ian Carter – Acute Hospitals

§ Mr John Hennessy – Primary Care

§ Mr Stephen Mulvany -Mental Health

§ Mr. Pat Healy – Social Care

§ Dr  Stephanie O’Keeffe -Health & Wellbeing


The five Directors are now Directors Designate and will be participating in the process of finalising the design of new structures prior to taking up post.